?Why hire an attorney?
Do everything you can to protect your rights and freedom once you have been charged with, , or are under investigation for, a crime. If you are convicted, you could face the loss of your freedom, rights [such as voting, possessing or purchasing firearms or ammunition] and countless opportunities, depending on the severity of the charge(s). Having an experienced criminal defense attorney can drastically enhance your chances of obtaining a more positive outcome. Attorneys can never guarantee a result however, history has proven that individuals that hire a qualified attorney have a better chance of a favorable outcome. Contact the Kisluk Law Firm, PLLC today to discuss your case.
?What to say to the police if under arrest or investigation?
Tell the police, that you wish to speak to an attorney before engaging in any conversation. When read the Miranda Warnings, “you have the right to remain silent...” You should choose to remain silent, except to politely request an attorney. Criminal investigation(s) and/or charges are very upsetting and traumatic. If you are under arrest or investigation, please call the Kisluk Law Firm IMMEDIATELY!
?How to protect my rights after I have been arrested?
Remember you DO NOT have to answer ANY questions by police or other law enforcement agents. Remain silent except to ask for an attorney. Never engage in any “conversation” or questioning without your attorney present.
?What is the maximum penalty I can receive for a crime in Texas?
If you are convicted of a capital offense in Texas, you could be put to death by lethal injection or you could be sentenced to life imprisonment. It is imperative that you do everything you can to protect yourself by speaking with and hiring the right attorney; one who has the experience and knowledge to properly defend you.
?What is the “Legal” Blood Alcohol concentration level in Texas?
If you are under 21 years of age, any detectable amount of alcohol can result in your arrest. However, if you are over 21 years of age, the legal Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08, could result in your arrest. In both instances you will be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).